Scientific Advisory Board

Dr. Issam Raad, M.D.

Dr. Issam Raad, M.D. is Chair of MD Anderson Cancer Center’s Department of Infectious Diseases and the Endowed Distinguished Professor of Medicine. Dr. Raad is the author of the underlying patents for Mino-Lok. Dr. Raad’s innovations in prevention of bloodstream infections have been endorsed at the highest level (Category 1A) by the Center for Disease Control (CDC). He has been widely honored for creative research, compassionate patient care as well as outstanding mentorship and education. In 2015, Dr. Raad received the 2015 SHEA Mentor Scholar Award in recognition of his distinguished record in mentoring, over the last two decades, fellows and junior faculty, most of whom have assumed leadership positions as heads of infection control and prevention programs. In 2014, Dr. Raad received the Outstanding “Gerald Bodey Distinguished Professor” Award to honor his accomplishments in advancing the field of Infections in Cancer.

Dr. Mark Rupp, M.D.

Dr. Mark Rupp, M.D. is a Professor and Chief of the Division of Infectious Diseases in the Department of Internal Medicine at the University of Nebraska Medical Center. He is a Past-President of SHEA and is a past-president of ASM Division L (Infection Control/Hospital Epidemiology). Dr Rupp has served as a consultant for the Food and Drug Administration as well as the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, NIH, and VA.